Info on Vitamin D “Click to read”
The fat absorption issue with celiac disease/gluten intolerance is a problem with vitamin D absorption (it’s a fat soluble vitamin). Researchers from www.grassrootshealth.net indicated that celiac’s and gluten sensitive individuals sometimes need as much as 2x the amount of vitamin D a non-celiac person would in order to get enough to get to the desired serum levels (40-60 ng/ml).
JOIN the D*action http://www.joindaction.org/ program
Vitamin D is found naturally in very few foods. Foods containing vitamin D include some fatty fish (mackerel, salmon, sardines), fish liver oils, and eggs from hens that have been fed vitamin D. In the U.S., milk and infant formula are fortified with vitamin D so that they contain 400 IU (10 mcg) per quart. However, other dairy products, such as cheese and yogurt, are not always fortified with vitamin D. Some cereals and breads are also fortified with vitamin D. ( won't help those on a gluten free diet ) if they contain gluten. Recently, orange juice fortified with vitamin D has been made available in the U.S.
Most alternative gluten FREE cereals don't contain Vitamin D
The "one" mainstream gluten-free cereal, rice, corn, Honey nut chex does, while many mainstream breakfast cereals are fortified with vitamin D, most gluten-free cereals are not. The only specially-formulated gluten-free cereal that I am aware of that is fortified with D is General Mills brand Rice Chex, corn chex and Honey Nut chex Each 1 cup of cereal provides 10% of the Daily Value for D (40 International Units).
The test you want to order is 25(OH)D, also called 25-hydroxyvitamin
You can also have testing done here http://www.joindaction.org/